Day 2: What to wear after Day 1

So sorry I missed you all after my first day. The truth is I was (and still am) dead tired. My body hasn’t quite adjusted to keeping lawyer-hours. An annoying side-effect it would seem from months of unemployment.

As I’m sure you all expected, my first day I wore a suit. And I have to say I am sorely annoyed with myself for not getting a picture of it – because I looked darn good! A silky royal blue button-front shirt with short sleeves. Black with gray pinstripe skirt suit. Burgundy pumps. Med-sized drop-shaped earrings with a mother of pearl finish. As I said, darn good.

But I find that dressing for day 2 is a bit trickier than dressing for day 1. In lawyer world, you wear a suit the first day. End of story. Maybe you wear a shirt underneath your jacket that can stand on its own if you can take off the jacket as your day goes on. But then comes day 2. The suit may not be necessary, but you haven’t been at the firm long enough to get a firm grip of dress code and culture of your new firm.

So in putting together today’s outfit, I tried to walk the line between I-just-started-here-formal and I’m-already-getting-comfortable.

There’s a few things I like about this outfit. For starters, I love the sweater. I typically avoid one-button jackets like the plague as they tend to make those of us with large busts and spare tires look like stuffed sausages. But this one, I’m guessing because of the soft knit fabric, falls much more softly but the shape of it still kind of resembles a blazer. The shirt is also a bit more formal than a t-shirt under a sweater. The fabric is cotton, but a bit thicker with more structure and nice ruffled neckline. The slacks are a classic, charcoal gray (matching piece to a suit).

When going for a more simple, classic look like the above I like to mix in funky accessories. It truly is one of my greatest loves in life. From the picture above you can spot a few of these extra touches. The dark nail polish (one of my newest loves which I hopefully will be doing a post on later). The bracelet – beads with blue, pink, and gold details. But my favorite in this outfit is the necklace.

This necklace is one of my favorite acquisitions of late. It was approximate $5 from Forever21 (my secret hunting ground for fun and inexpensive accessories). It’s just fun and a little unexpected, though still quite lovely and feminine.

Well that’s all for tonight. I’ll be back in the office tomorrow continuing to learn the ropes at my new firm – and hopefully looking fabulous while doing it!

Leave a Reply

