Sometimes my job really doesn’t suck…

It’s moments like this when I realize that my job is not in fact so horrible.

So the job has me trotting off to Daytona Beach today. Seeing as I was only scheduled to be there for one measly little mediation (which lasted nearly four hours tanks to opposing counsel getting stuck in tie-up in I-95 and difficulties getting my client on the phone) and by the time the mediation was done I wouldn’t be able to to get back to the office before end of business, it just didn’t seem right to leav Daytona Beach without seeing the actual beach.

Moral of the story: It’s okay to take a little personal time during a business trip. Particularly when doing so won’t affect your ability to do said business.
And while it would have been quite the sight to see me walking down the beach in a suit, I came prepared for such an opportunity. I packed jeans and flats to change into.

Now I’m back home after having sat through the most ridiculous rush hour traffic in Orlando, dropped off the rental car (for the record, the Nissan Cube wins the award for Ugliest Car I’ve Ever Driven), and stopped into the office to report the results of the mediation. I’m beyond exhausted. Nighty night.

Leave a Reply

