Thoughts 7 weeks into my first job

I’ll have been at my job a whole 7 weeks tomorrow. That’s 3 paychecks (with the 4th arriving Friday this week). That’s a sizable handful of hearings and trips to Ocala, Tallahassee, and Daytona Beach. That’s 35 days in the office and something along the lines of 280 hours actually in the office and 90 hours billed (cut me some slack, I’m new at this).

I’m starting to feel more confident with what I’m doing the more time that passes. It was only about 4 weeks ago that I was officially assigned my own caseload and expected to cover hearings. I find that the longer I am forced to actually practice, the more comfortable I become with it. That first leap into actual, real lawyering is a scary one – but making that leap is the only way to become comfortable with the job.

Don’t get me wrong – I still frequently have moments where I have absolutely no clue what is going on or what I should do. But I find those moments becoming fewer and farther between. I’m not longer walking into my supervisor’s office 12 times a day with questions – now I’m down to 3-4 times a day.

7 weeks into my first job I can say that I am happy and that I feel good about the caliber at which I am performing my job. There’s alot of I’ved learned and that I’m now comfortable with, but there is still much for me to learn and grow more accustomed to. All in all, I think this is going to be a good stretch.

Nighty night, readers!

Leave a Reply

