I’m baaaaaaaack…

So I’ve been an excessively recalcitrant blogger lately. My sincerest apologies. Work got crazy busy. And I took a (mini) vacation. And I lost my camera. And the dog ate my homework – I know. But now I’m back! I hope you all missed me.

Let’s mix things up a bit. I work in a business casual office (that is still currently in its month-long stint of casual wear). So it’s not often that I have reason to wear business formal. So I give you, ladies and gentlemen – a suit!

Every professional woman should have a favorite suit. I should say – not just a favorite suit – but one that makes you feel good, strong, and a total badass. This would be mine. I’m not sure what it is about this particular suit that makes me feel like a woman to be reckoned with, but I’m guessing it’s either the good, comfortable fit, the off-black color, or the subtle pinstripes.
And of course, the red shirt adds a little something extra to it. It’s not a shy color, to say the least. If you’re willing to wear a color like this, you have to be willing (or wanting) to have people take notice.

I wore this for one of my first court appearances. I do alot of mediations and courtcall hearings. Both are rather informal and relaxed. Mediation is, by its nature, an informal process and calling-in for a hearing just tends to feel less formal. For this particular set of hearings, I wanted to appear very classic and formal to help me feel and to remember to be more formal. Also, because this particular set of hearings was going to last most of the day and require me to run between multiple courtrooms, I knew I needed to be comfortable. So I went with my favorite suit and a classic button-front shirt in a bold color.

Now, it’s time for me to enter some billing and get ready for the craziness that’s to come this week (and watch some Law & Order while I’m doing the above). Nighty night!

Leave a comment